Becca

31 march, thats the last time I drank and also when I was raped.

The emotional and psychological damage that the guy has done to me is unimaginable. I thought I knew what it was like to be depressed and suicidal, but after I was raped it screwed me up so much that I did not want to live anymore. I lost who I was, my identity and passion for life.

I was diagnosed with post traumatic stress disorder after several suicide attempts and have been seeing a therapist. ACC have helped as I’ve had to take a considerable amount of time off work this year. Its been 7 and a half months now and I’m slowly moving on with my life.

The police were involved however I was told that it was unlikely that they could charge him-Its a he said she said case, like most. I didn’t want to go to court and be insulted, humiliated and degraded all over again.

Several offers to beat the shit out of this guy have been made. However, I can never hurt him as much as he has hurt me.

You can not give consent while intoxicated. Unconsensual sex is rape.

The recent roast busters case has finally brought the issue of sexual assault among teenagers and young people to light. Education is needed so these young boys know that they can’t do this and can get into a lot of trouble. Also, them knowing how much it can fuck up a girls life, or end it will hopefully make them think twice about the decisions they make.

I just wanted to share my story and hope that what I’ve gone through isn’t a complete waste, that I can make a change.

X

